Forecasting and Technology

The other thread regarding the SPC forecasts got me thinking about how technology has evolved just in this aspect of meteorology. Instead of hijacking the SPC thread, I decided to start a separate thread.

Outside of taking basic meteorology courses back in the 1980's, I'm a novice when it comes down to weather forecasting.

Is it possible that there is too much data available and that many meteorologists depend too much on model output?

I know that it takes a lot of hard work and dedication to become a meteorologist/forecaster. As technology has evolved, there is now so much more data available at One's fingertips. When I go into the various data sites and look at forecast model output, I'm amazed at how far things have come. Undoubtedly, this technology will only continue to improve forecasting accuracy.

I went back through some old videos I have of Harold Taft and Scott Chesner who were meteorologists in the Dallas/Ft. Worth area. I would start recording their forecasts several days before a forecasted severe weather event, the day of, and the day after. I know the data that they had access to in the 1980's is no where near to what is now available. Both of these meteorologists were quite accurate with there forecasts during the years they were in this area. There were many occasions when they would indicate that the computer models were predicting one thing, yet they went with a different forecast according to their knowledge/experience.

I understand that many years of experience will usually make a forecaster better. Harold Taft was an exceptional meteorologist, but how was he able to be as accurate if not more so than many forecaster's are today? Tom Skilling is another meteorologist that comes to mind. Both of these guy's were very confident most of the time when presenting there forecast's.

I only watch TV meteorologists on occasion now, especially with the availability of data from the NWS/SPC.