Dewpoint depressions, relative humidity, and lifted condensation level

Dan Ross

EF0
I've been chasing for many years now. I've studied some mesoscale meteorology as it applies to thunderstorms/tornadoes, but I'm certainly no meteorologist. The three calculations in the thread title are things I've felt I understood pretty well, but the harder I think about them, the less clear things become:

So I know that generally speaking, the smaller the dewpoint depression, the higher the relative humidity, and the lower the lifted condensation level. Also I’m pretty sure that not all scenarios for a given DD represent the same RH - for example a 50/30 (T/D) and a 80/60 would not have the same %RH, right? Considering this, I would assume that both parcels, when lifted and cooled at the dry adiabatic lapse rate, would have identical LCLs because they’d both have to cool by the same amount to become saturated. So does this mean that calculating LCLs is as simple as knowing the DD, and that RH is less useful comparatively? Obviously I haven’t yet tried looking into the math behind it all. I guess I feel like it probably isn’t that simple, so could anyone here help shed some light on the interrelatedness of these 3 things?

Well ... certainly not my area of expertise ... but, assuming http://www.aprweather.com/pages/calc.htm is a good source (probably is), it looks like what you are saying would produce a good approximation ... it shows:

LCL Height (Estimated FT)= H= 222(Tf-Tdf)

( Tf is temp in Fahrenheit and I believe Tdf is Dewpoint in Fahrenheit) and a similar estimate for LCL Height in meters. So, using Dewpoint depression works for an estimate. The actual computation is shown on that website and uses Surface Temp, Dewpoint and Pressure and does not yield the exactly same results for identical dewpoint depressions at the same surface pressure. And, I found a calculator at http://www.csgnetwork.com/lclcalc.html if you really want exact values.