Beginner seeking additional help for chasing in 2018

Andrew Malsbury

Enthusiast
As this is my first post on the forum, I'll give a small introduction. My name is Andrew M. and I am a rising high-school senior living in New Orleans. As i was raised in central Texas, I am extremely interested in meteorology and severe storms. The school sanctioned senior trip will be to Disney World, but to me and my friend Lillian, that sounds incredibly boring. That's when i put out the idea of going storm chasing and she loved it. That was about 3 weeks ago and we have both been doing research since. Coming across this site has helped me along substantially and i figure i might as well ask for help. Okay intro over...
TLDR: Im a noob wanting help

So here is why i posted in equipment:

My grandfather recently passed and i was given his old 2000 Dodge Dakota Quad Cab that had a camper shell on the back. First question is: is this a decent truck for storm chasing?
2000-dodge-dakota_0886c9c5.jpg download.jpg 2001-dodge-dakota_0786c9c5.jpg

After doing some research I put together this quick amazon list of the equipment i should buy to be prepared for just about anything. Is this a good list? http://a.co/bROAABW

Any suggestions for edits on either of the two would be so greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Last edited:
I admire your enthusiasm. It's nice to see the younger generation taking an interest in storm chasing. I do have that uneasy feeling that though, after going through your shopping list, that you are looking at this in the same way you would a camping trip. Putting a list of things together that you think you may need and heading out. I'm concerned that you may not be puttting in the ground work as far as learning storm structure and the do's and don't of storm chasing first.