A plethora of questions

K Johnson

EF0
At last a forum I feel able to ask questions in! Thank you Tim!

I do feel a little bit stupid asking these questions, but seeing as I will expode if I don't get some answers soon - here goes....

1) Are there any female chasers who go out on their own for weeks at a time? How do they stay safe?

2) What exactly makes a good CAPE? What am I looking for on a good day?

3) What exactly makes a bad CAP? What am I looking for on a bad day?

4) I have an Olympus SP550UZ - and I am an utter novice photographer who specializes in taking particularly awful cloud photos. Are there standard settings that can be relied upon, or do all cameras react differently in different situations?

5) When there is a choice of storms to go after, how do you decide which is the one most likely to produce?

6) I think Chuck Doswell rocks. Ok thats not a question, but I don't feel able to express this in the more explosive threads - being a newbie an' all I don't want to tread on anyones toes. But I've only been on the chase scene 7 months and Chuck has already been very kind and funny and straight up with me and I dont like reading all the flaming against him.
I don't want any responses to this one - I just had to get it off my chest!

7) Is it not acceptable for a newbie with a severe lack of chasing knowledge to answer the 'chase buddies' forum posts? Obviously the gas and lodging costs would be split, but I wouldnt be able to contribute much to the knowledge!

Sorry for all the questions, and I hope this is the right place to post them. Feel free to delete / move / laugh as appropriate.

Kirstie

At last a forum I feel able to ask questions in! Thank you Tim!

5) When there is a choice of storms to go after, how do you decide which is the one most likely to produce?