Help! Tour Cancelled

Discussion in 'STORMTRACK: Announcements' started by Michael Brown, May 11, 2017.

1. Michael Brown

I hope some of you can help me. I grew up in Oklahoma and have always loved severe weather and to photograph it. I presently live in Michigan where I work as a physician (cardiologist..use doppler in a different way!) I have gone on tours since 2013, last year my tour was cancelled due to lack of weather and was moved to this year. I just found out that tour is now being moved to 2018. Honestly, I am devistated....have looked forward to it all year. In any event my schedule is not flexible. I have from the 14th thru the 22nd of May. If any of you do tours and have a spot during that time, I would love to hear from you!

2. Darren Lo

Darren Lo Member

That's unfortunate. Who is/was your tour with and did they give a satisfactory explanation for the delay to 2018?

3. Michael Brown

It was with Lanny Dean, apparently he underwent surgery today. Can't tell you who disappointed I am.

Sent from my iPhone using Stormtrack

4. Darren Lo

Darren Lo Member

If you're willing to drive or otherwise take an active role, perhaps you could ask in the chase partner thread to see if anyone is looking for a partner next week. Unfortunately that thread is pretty dead at the moment because it was started so late this year. Alternatively, if you haven't already done so, you could ask the various tour operators (e.g. those listed at stormchasingusa.com) if they're able to accommodate you in any way.

5. Mark Blue

Staff Member

That's bad news Dr. Brown. I'd recommend getting on the waiting list with Roger Hill's group, which can be found here: http://www.silverliningtours.com/2017-tour-schedule/. They might be able to work something out for you, especially for local chases, but it is getting late in the game at this point.