AWIPS 2 Availability

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by rdale, Sep 9, 2014.

  1. rdale

    rdale EF5

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    6,698
    Likes Received:
    271
    As we've noted, AWIPS2 is publicly available now as a beta. But unlike the GEMPAK days when you could grab the open data and convert to GEMPAK format, I'm not seeing this as viable in AWIPS2.

    What can be done is the following:

    1) Install AWIPS2 in a Linux machine, or using VMWare with Windows (similar to how GEMPAK works now)

    Then

    2a) Get your own NOAAPORT dish (expensive) or IDD feed (not possible unless you are at and .edu site)
    or
    2b) Find a EDEX server willing to feed you the data already converted to AWIPS2 format.

    If we can come up with some 2b's we'll be in good shape. I have mentioned it to AllisonHouse already and they are interested, but don't feel there would be any value with the limited number of people who might use AWIPS2. I said there is a good GEMPAK base and that people would pay some to get AWIPS2 data... So prove me right :) Any interest?
     
  2. GPhillips

    GPhillips EF3

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    16
    I have some interest, depending on cost of course.
     
  3. rdale

    rdale EF5

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    6,698
    Likes Received:
    271
    My guess is that cost would be in line with their other data packages -- $25 a month maybe?
     
  4. rdale

    rdale EF5

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    6,698
    Likes Received:
    271
    I have AWIPS2 running in VMWare for Windows users. It seems to do okay if you have a 64-bit box so I'm going to keep future GEMPAK development in that arena (I assume most people with newer machines are 64-bit anyways.) If interested, now is the time to tell AllisonHouse :) There is a test server for educational facilities but it's not meant for operational use so doesn't have a lot of the data that would make it viable.

    - Rob
     
  5. Rob H

    Rob H EF5

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    825
    Likes Received:
    5
    How much RAM do you have and how much is it grabbing during normal use?
     
  6. rdale

    rdale EF5

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    6,698
    Likes Received:
    271
    In the system I'm playing with, only 4GB in VMWare is available. I'm building a dedicated system over Christmas to see if that'll help but the lack of an operational data server will be an issue regardless.

    NWS recommends 16GB of memory (minimum of 8GB) with an NVIDIA GPU with 2GB and OpenGL.

    If you want to run your own server, then a separate machine with 24GB, a 256GB SSD, and two i7+ CPUs. Not cheap :)
     
  7. Kelton Halbert

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    81
    For what it's worth, the AWIPS-II LDM in the EDEX-server installation will pull in some model data over FTP. It isn't optimal, but I've done some experiments running it on my Linux workstation and it pulled it in just fine. The other EDEX-server requirements are for the large volume data sources, like radar and such (at least to my knowledge).

    EDIT:

    Should mention that this is running the CAVE client and the EDEX server on the same machine.
     
  8. rdale

    rdale EF5

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    6,698
    Likes Received:
    271
    How's your CAVE client working? Even on a faster box (still VMWare) with more memory it's barely "usable."
     
  9. GPhillips

    GPhillips EF3

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    16
    rdale,

    Is the VMWare setup to use OpenGL acceleration? I wonder how much the display speed is tied to the video card and its capabilities. Or are you talking about even just loading the GUIs?
     
  10. rdale

    rdale EF5

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    6,698
    Likes Received:
    271
    Just loading the GUI is a process that lets me take a water break...
     
  11. Steve Miller

    Steve Miller Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    634
    WDT brings in, adds value, then distributes AWIPS data to customers. I see no reason why we couldn't explore the sale of this data direct or through a third party like AllisonHouse. I'll reach out.
     
  12. rdale

    rdale EF5

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    6,698
    Likes Received:
    271
    Thanks. You have all the data for sure. Basically need someone that will host an EDEX server to convert it to AWIPS2 format. If you're familiar with GEMPAK, you know it converts gridded data to .gem format and then you have to download the whole file. EDEX is similar but it does the conversion on the server side, so end users select the data they want and their A2 goes out and requests just that data from the server. Less overhead (theoretically) on the user's side.

    - Rob
     
  13. mfoland

    mfoland Guest

    It would be awesome to have an EDEX server, especially since the beta one is gone :(
     
  14. Steve Miller

    Steve Miller Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    634
    Oh crud, I dropped the ball on finding out details about our potential to redistribute data to consumers. I'll get on that.
     
  15. Ben Holcomb

    Ben Holcomb Digital Janitor
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    649
    It might be just available to universities/education, but I do believe Unidata has an EDEX server they host.
     
  16. rdale

    rdale EF5

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    6,698
    Likes Received:
    271
    Unidata had a cloud-based EDEX for testing, but the funding was cut. Unless you're getting data through some super-secret proprietary source, it should be freely distributable (other than ECMWF & lightning.) I set up an EDEX server but I could hear my PC choking the first time it started crunching model data :)
     
  17. Ben Holcomb

    Ben Holcomb Digital Janitor
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    649
    Wonder how bad my new R610 server in Lansing would choke if I tried to run an EDEX host. ha.

    Supposedly they still have the cloud-based thing open to .edu PTR's only
     
  18. rdale

    rdale EF5

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    6,698
    Likes Received:
    271
    Don't you touch that box :)

    Here is the EDEX notice sent out earlier this month:

    Hello AWIPS II users,

    Many of you know that Unidata has offered an EDEX server in the cloud for beta testers. This server was funded by a short Microsoft grant, a situation that allowed us to offer live data to our users and evaluate the performance a system at this scale.

    I'm sorry to announce that the Azure cloud server will shut down tonight, February 10, until further notice.

    We are discussing alternative ways to provide a testing server to AWIPS II users, but until the next step is determined, sites will have to install and configure their own EDEX servers and direct their CAVE clients locally.

    Thank you for your participation and continued interest
     
  19. Brian G

    Brian G EF2

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    24
    I never really did use AWIPS II that much. The biggest problem I had with it were that I could not see all frames from the models. For example, when selecting GFS products I would only see like 50% of the forecast hours available. Also, I never did figure out how to do color filled contours. But, the cross section tool was fantastic!

    I second having a 3rd party provide an EDEX server data feed. AllisonHouse perhaps?
     
  20. rdale

    rdale EF5

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    6,698
    Likes Received:
    271
    Their demo EDEX server was just for that purpose - demonstrating. It never had a full suite of data or models so that would explain why :)

    I've talked to AH but they need to keep seeing interest. Drop them a line to let them know...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  21. L.B. LaForce

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    13
    I had AWIPS II installed for a little while, and was using the public EDEX server, but quickly got rid of it. As Rob stated, it was literally unusable in a VMWare virtual machine. I was running mine on 12GB of RAM, and the thing was ridiculously slow. I also never got graphics to load. I could load contours, but no shaded graphics. I have given up for the time being until I find a better solution, or something changes.
     
  22. Kelton Halbert

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    81
    For anyone that is curious...

    The student-run Oklahoma Weather Lab at OU got some new tech upgrades and a new forecasting space, of which part of what I have done is requested and set up 3 AWIPS2 workstations. We currently do not have a dedicated EDEX server (will soon though), and have been running EDEX on one of the AWIPS workstations. It isn't the most ideal solution, especially if you want to pull in a full suite of data, but if you are okay running on some minimums, it works relatively well.

    The computers are Dell Precision workstations, quad core i5 3.2 GHz, 16GB RAM, 500GB HDD. So far, pulling in limited data (RAP/NAM/GFS/Satellite/limited L3 Radar), a single workstation is able to run both EDEX and CAVE, and the other two workstations then point to the EDEX on the other station. Again, it isn't ideal, but the computer hasn't exploded. and therefore I consider it a success. If someone has a beefy enough machine, they can run it just fine. I definitely do not recommend running this in a VM.
     
  23. rdale

    rdale EF5

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    6,698
    Likes Received:
    271
    ...with the caveat that they have access to IDD/LDM, which is highly limited outside of the university environment ;)
     
  24. Kelton Halbert

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    81
    This is a fact that I keep forgetting... University life has me spoiled.
    Still, if you happen to be pulling in data over LDM (I know a few people that, in fact, do this on their own... i.e. Ben), you aren't completely hosed.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  25. Zac Flamig

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just a word of advice if you ever end up spec'ing hardware for an EDEX server, spend the extra $$$ and get SSD drives. With LDM, EDEX ingest and Postgresql constantly hitting your disk you will seriously appreciate the extra iops that SSDs provide.
     

Share This Page